Frequently Asked Questions about Iberogast

Iberogast harnesses the benefits of 9 medicinal plant extracts that are naturally sourced. The unique combination of herbal extracts in Iberogast work together to relieve symptoms of gastrointestinal disturbances associated with functional dyspepsia and irritable bowel syndrome (IBS).

Woman on a bed with a laptop
    • Adult and child doses vary, and a liquid solution makes giving the right person the right dose much simpler
    • Children and the elderly often prefer taking liquids. Some people find it difficult or unpleasant to swallow tablets
    • Liquid formulas are absorbed by the body quicker and more easily than tablets.
  • Some of the nine medicinal plants in Iberogast contain bitter substances, e.g. Iberis amara, also known as bitter candytuft (which accounts for the first part of the name to Iberogast). This is why many people experience the taste of Iberogast as bitter. However, as taste and smell are very subjective issues, the slightly bitter taste of Iberogast is experienced and rated differently with regard to strength. Those consumers who do not like a slightly bitter taste can take Iberogast as per the recommended dosage in sweetened tea or fruit juice before consuming the product.

  • If consumers are unsure whether they can use Iberogast for a prolonged period of time, they should ask their pharmacist or physician for advice. Consult a health care practitioner if symptoms persist or expected relief is not achieved within 7 days or for use beyond 4 consecutive weeks.

  • Iberogast can be diluted in cold or warm water, herbal or fruit tea, or juice. The slightly bitter taste of Iberogast, which is due to natural bitter substances contained in the medicinal plant extracts, can thereby be reduced. However, the temperature of the above-mentioned liquids should not be higher than 25°C. Grapefruit juice and alcoholic beverages are not suited for dilution because they can have a negative impact on the efficacy of Iberogast.

  • The efficacy, safety and tolerability of Iberogast have been studied in more than 20 scientific studies, involving more than 7,000 patients. Iberogast was well tolerated, however, hypersensitivity (e.g. allergy, skin reactions) has been known to occur. Unless advised by a health care professional, Iberogast should not be taken for a period beyond 4 consecutive weeks or during pregnancy or by breastfeeding mothers. Consult a health care practitioner before using if you have a peptic ulcer, liver disorder, epilepsy or if abdominal pain occurs in children under age 6. Iberogast contains 31% alcohol. Patients with illness related to alcohol should avoid Iberogast. Keep out of the reach of children. Do not use if you are allergic to ingredients in Iberogast.

  • Iberogast is indicated for use in children older than three years. The recommended dose for children aged three to six years is 10 drops, 3 times per day in some liquid before or with meals. For children between six and twelve years old, the recommended dose is 15 drops, 3 times per day. The total alcoholic content per single dose (10 drops or 15 drops) varies between 0.12 g and 0.18 g, respectively. By way of comparison, this is less than the alcohol content in a 200 ml glass of apple juice.

  • Unless advised by a health care professional, Iberogast should not be taken during pregnancy or by breastfeeding mothers.

  • After opening, Iberogast can be stored for at least 8 weeks. The reason is that some of the ingredients in the nine medicinal plants in Iberogast can only be found in the indicated amounts (specified on the pack and in the patient information leaflet) during the first eight weeks after opening the bottle.

  • Iberogast contains 31% alcohol because alcohol is used as an extraction medium for herbal extracts. The alcohol in Iberogast works as a ‘solvent’, preserving the nine medicinal plant extracts that contributes to Iberogast efficacy. For this reason, patients with illness related to alcohol should avoid Iberogast.

    A single adult dose of 20 drops contains just 0.24g of alcohol. By comparison, plenty of everyday foods and drinks contain small but higher volumes of alcohol. A glass of apple juice contains 0.3-0.7g and a slice of rye bread contains 0.3-0.4g.

  • Iberogast is manufactured to high quality standards. Bayer enforces the same manufacturing standards that apply to its other medicines. Iberogast is made with a patented production process and it also meets GMP standards. Medicinal plants used for Iberogast are cultivated and harvested under standardized and controlled conditions in accordance with Good Agricultural and Collecting Practice (GACP), ensuring consistent levels of active ingredients. Iberogast itself is also manufactured under standardized conditions outlined by Good Manufacturing Practice (GMP).

Foire aux questions sur Iberogast

Iberogast mise sur les bienfaits de neuf plantes médicinales de source naturelle. Iberogast est une combinaison unique de plantes qui agissent ensemble pour soulager les symptômes de troubles gastro-intestinaux associés à la dyspepsie fonctionnelle et au syndrome du côlon irritable.

Questions sur les troubles gastriques
    • La posologie étant différente pour les adultes et les enfants, l’utilisation d’une solution liquide simplifie l’administration de la bonne dose à la bonne personne.
    • Les enfants et les personnes âgées préfèrent souvent les liquides. Certaines personnes trouvent difficile ou déplaisant d’avaler des comprimés.
    • L’organisme absorbe plus rapidement et plus facilement les préparations liquides que les comprimés.
  • Parmi les neuf plantes médicinales d’Iberogast, certaines contiennent des substances amères, notamment l’Iberis amara, aussi appelé « ibéris amer » (auquel Iberogast doit d’ailleurs la première partie de son nom). Voilà pourquoi les gens sont nombreux à trouver qu’Iberogast a un goût amer. Or, comme la perception des goûts et des odeurs est très subjective, l’amertume d’Iberogast, bien que légère, peut être perçue et considérée comme étant plus ou moins intense d’une personne à l’autre. Les consommateurs qui n’aiment pas le goût légèrement amer d’Iberogast peuvent le prendre, selon la posologie recommandée, en l’ajoutant à un thé sucré ou à un jus de fruits.

  • Il est recommandé aux consommateurs qui s’interrogent sur la possibilité de prendre Iberogast pendant une période prolongée d’en discuter avec leur médecin ou leur pharmacien. Consultez un professionnel de la santé si les symptômes persistent, si le soulagement escompté n’est pas obtenu après 7 jours ou pour la prise d’Iberogast pendant plus de 4 semaines de suite.

  • Iberogast peut être dilué dans de l’eau froide ou tiède, comme des tisanes, des infusions de fruits ou du jus. Cela peut suffire à atténuer le goût légèrement amer d’Iberogast, qui lui vient des substances naturelles au goût amer contenues dans les extraits naturels de plantes. Cela dit, la température des liquides énumérés ci-dessus ne doit pas dépasser 25 °C. En outre, il ne faut pas diluer Iberogast dans du jus de pamplemousse ni des boissons alcoolisées pour ne pas nuire à son efficacité.

  • L’efficacité, l’innocuité et la tolérabilité d’Iberogast ont été évaluées dans le cadre de plus de 20 études scientifiques auxquelles plus de 7 000 patients ont participé. Iberogast a été bien toléré; toutefois, une hypersensibilité (p. ex. allergie et réactions cutanées) a déjà été signalée. Sauf avis contraire d’un professionnel de la santé, Iberogast ne doit pas être pris pendant plus de 4 semaines consécutives ni par les femmes enceintes et celles qui allaitent. Consulter un professionnel de la santé avant d’utiliser Iberogast en présence d’un ulcère gastro-duodénal, d’un trouble du foie ou d’épilepsie, ou chez un enfant de moins de 6 ans souffrant de douleurs abdominales. Iberogast contient 31 % d’alcool. Iberogast est à proscrire chez les patients qui présentent une maladie liée à l’alcool. Garder hors de la portée des enfants. Ne pas prendre Iberogast en cas d’allergie à l’un de ses ingrédients.

  • Iberogast est indiqué chez les enfants de 3 ans et plus. La dose recommandée chez les enfants âgés de 3 à 6 ans est de 10 gouttes, 3 fois par jour, diluées dans du liquide avant ou avec les repas. Chez les enfants âgés de 6 à 12 ans, la dose recommandée est de 15 gouttes, 3 fois par jour. La teneur en alcool d’une dose de 10 gouttes est de 0,12 g et celle d’une dose de 15 gouttes, de 0,18 g. À titre de comparaison, cette quantité d’alcool est inférieure à celle d’un verre de 200 mL de jus de pomme.

  • Sauf avis contraire d’un professionnel de la santé, les femmes enceintes ou qui allaitent ne doivent pas prendre Iberogast.

  • Une fois ouvert, Iberogast se conserve pendant au moins 8 semaines. En fait, certains des ingrédients des neuf plantes médicinales contenues dans Iberogast ne peuvent se trouver dans les quantités indiquées (précisées sur l’emballage et dans le feuillet de renseignements pour les patients) que pendant les huit premières semaines suivant l’ouverture du flacon.

  • Iberogast contient 31 % d’alcool parce que c’est l’alcool qui est utilisé pour obtenir les extraits de plantes. L’alcool dans Iberogast agit comme solvant pour conserver les neuf plantes médicinales qui contribuent à son efficacité. Pour cette raison, Iberogast est à proscrire chez les patients qui présentent une maladie liée à l’alcool.

    Une dose de 20 gouttes pour adulte ne contient que 0,24 g d’alcool. Par comparaison, bien des aliments et des boissons consommés tous les jours ont un volume d’alcool supérieur, bien qu’encore faible. Un verre de jus de pomme contient de 0,3 à 0,7 g d’alcool, et une tranche de pain de seigle, de 0,3 à 0,4 g.

  • La fabrication d’Iberogast répond à des normes de qualité élevées. Bayer respecte les mêmes normes de fabrication que celles qui s’appliquent à tous ses médicaments. Iberogast est fabriqué selon un processus breveté qui répond aux normes de bonnes pratiques de fabrication.

    Les plantes médicinales qui entrent dans la composition d’Iberogast sont cultivées et récoltées dans des conditions normalisées et contrôlées conformément aux bonnes pratiques agricoles et aux bonnes pratiques de récolte, ce qui permet d’assurer l’uniformité de la teneur en ingrédients actifs du produit. Les conditions de fabrication d’Iberogast sont elles aussi normalisées, conformément aux bonnes pratiques de fabrication.